Tarot Cards

Magic is the energy that connects us.
– Madam Josephine

Tarot cards are used for divination and put you in touch with your higher self. They are like a sacred mirror to help you make connections you might have overlooked or ignored otherwise.

There are many themes for Tarot decks, from the traditional Rider-Waite deck to bohemian cats to zombies to Jane Austen. Artists have created decks encompassing all kinds of interests, so find one that fits with your personality.

Whatever the theme of the illustrations, the deck itself should have 22 Major Arcana cards, 56 Minor Arcana cards, and four elements or suits.

The Major Arcana are the trumps and are unsuited. When one of these is pulled, it indicates a major influence or revelation and should be taken very seriously. These include cards such as The Fool, The Hanged Man, The Magician, The Lovers, and Death.

The Minor Arcana refer to more everyday matters. They are divided into four suits that represent a different facet of life.

Wands = fire = creativity and passion
Swords = air = intellect
Pentacles = earth = work and money
Cups = water = emotion

For each of the suits, there are fourteen cards – Ace through Ten and then Page, Knight, Queen, and King.

There are many ways to pull cards and place them in various spreads. When interpreting the cards, it’s important to think about the symbolism of that card, as well as its placement within the spread. Most decks come with instructions as well as meanings for each of the cards. The more familiar you become with the deck, the easier it will be to understand what the cards mean for you and others.